Shipping a car Freight Collect

Discussion in 'Importing Misc' started by Dah_Hunter, Mar 5, 2015.

1. Dah_Hunter

Dah_Hunter Looking over your shoulder, so you dont have to.

I have never done this before but there is always a first time.

Basicly instead of having them pay for the shipping in Japan. it gets shipped Freight Collect, which means i pay for it on this end.. Interesting Yes..

So what happened so far:
    Car is scheduled to go on Boat.
    Company in Vancouver that handles the Freight Collect is called: ACGI Shipping Inc
    The car wont get loaded on the Japan end until they contact me and i confirm that YES i will be paying for the shipping, and Yes the car is for me.
    I just did that today.
    Next step is loading confirmation and then the Shipping costs bill.
    Its in USD (Of course) and they only accept Cash or Direct wire transfer.. (Not extra points on the CC for me)
    (Shipping this way is so uncommon that they didnt even know if they could accept wire transfers, the lady said the couple other people that do this just bring cash to the office.. Which is in down Town, and i dont want to go there)

i will update as this process continues.

IMPUL likes this.
  2. IMPUL

IMPUL Collector of fine japanese lawn ornaments

Interesting....

3. RyanV

RyanV Member

Is there any savings to this? Without putting it on a CC to get some points or something it seems like it could just add another possible headache. Does it make more "discount dealers" available or something?

4. Dah_Hunter

In this case, the Exporter (Derek) wasnt sure how much the shipping was going to cost on the Hino and instead of over or under billing me i said lets just Send it collect.

I doubt there will be any sort of savings.. but who knows. since shipping is always charged in USD, this saves one Hop of Converions. Since im just going CAD to USD, instead of CAD to JPY to USD.

5. Ihatedomestic

Ihatedomestic I rarely post; mostly lurk in the shadows