Quick DRL Relay that works on most JDM's

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Dah_Hunter, Apr 16, 2017.

  1. Dah_Hunter

    Dah_Hunter Looking over your shoulder, so you dont have to.

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,371
    Location:
    Lower Rainland (BC)
    I have people asking me all the time about how i do DRL's (Day Time Running Lights) Well i do a quick relay.

    Saves time and money and just requires a very small bit of wiring. and it works on any car, and on most lights (Not HID's)

    First think you need is a relay:

    20170416_092032.jpg

    Here is a couple places you can get them:
    Alibaba
    Amazon


    So once you have your relay, you need to wire it in like this:
    86 goes to a Power source that is activated on igniton (Key Turning on)
    85 goes to a ground
    30 goes to the postive on the battery
    87 goes to the lights. So i normaly use whatever lights have wires that are the easiest to get to. 87 Wire has to Split of and run to both of them, Left and Right side. Most of the time i use the parking lights, but sometimes depending on the car i use the headlights. as i mentioned before if your car has HID's with ballests this wont work.

    anyways thats a simple way to do it, and you can hide the wiring however you want. looks clean. and costs are pretty cheap.
     
    shok likes this.
  2. Megatol

    Megatol Mr. Toyota

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Calgary
    If you use parking lights your dashboard and tail lights will be on as well, isn't it? I think they are connected in the same circuit.
    Diode will help to solve this issue.
     
  3. Dah_Hunter

    Dah_Hunter Looking over your shoulder, so you dont have to.

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,371
    Location:
    Lower Rainland (BC)
    i just wire it straight to the positive lines going to the bulbs in the headlights. all the wiring is under the hood. so its before any of those circuits. tail lights have never came on in my many applications of this.

    if you were to do this under the dash at the fusebox then you would have to worry about that yes.
     
  4. shok

    shok SpaceMan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Kelowna
    Thanks for the write-up!
     
  5. Murrdawg02

    Murrdawg02 Danger to the manifold

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Solid way of doing it.
    I have done this for 2 cars, seems to work well.
    Buy a mini fuse tap like this, then if you are lucky find a fuse in the engine bay fuse box that is switched on the ignition and voila! If you arent so lucky then you will have to use the inside fuse box and plug this tap into the radio fuse. Either way works really well, but I would probably only recommend it for parking lights (LEDs even better) being converted to DRLs .

    Only real downside is in some locations this tap will not fit or cover up another fuse slot that you need, so to get around that problem I have just made little "jumper wires" with spade crimp-on connectors to plug into the fuse box and relocate the fuse tap in a better location.
     
  6. trev

    trev New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    397
    I jumper my parking lights to a fuse that is active when the ignition is on, using the fuse tap mentioned above. I can't remember the least car I had where I couldn't get this to work (which has happened).
     
  7. Pajerist

    Pajerist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Wet Coast, BC
    as "off-topic", how about to put a piece of duct tape over the light sensors in the car with "auto light"?
    Then keep the "auto light" switch in "on" position and the cheapest DRL is ready!

    Thanks,
     
  8. Dah_Hunter

    Dah_Hunter Looking over your shoulder, so you dont have to.

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,371
    Location:
    Lower Rainland (BC)
    Yes that works good as well.

    :)
     
  9. Pajerist

    Pajerist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Wet Coast, BC
    Sounds good.
    Thanks a bunch, Ben!
     
  10. Dah_Hunter

    Dah_Hunter Looking over your shoulder, so you dont have to.

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,371
    Location:
    Lower Rainland (BC)
    Just make sure it's not super obvious.
     
  11. Megatol

    Megatol Mr. Toyota

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Calgary
    I think by the book DRL could not be easy disabled. With auto-light switch you can easy turn off you "DRL" :)
    So, it will depend from inspector.
     
  12. Pajerist

    Pajerist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Wet Coast, BC
    OK, thanks for heads up, guys.
     
  13. magnavahn

    magnavahn Vahn

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Central Alberta
    On my previous Subaru I turned the foglights on and hid the button under the dash. Most simple solution.

    I've also used dah-hunters method, or the hamstar DRL module from canadian tire.

    The auto lights and tape would probably not fly, shop pending.
     
  14. trev

    trev New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    397
    Heh, I did that on my WRX. I turned the fogs on and then popped it out of the dash and just had it stuck behind there.

    Didn't care that there was a missing spot, but you could always get a blank plate to pop in if you were inclined.

    It works well as those fogs are wired to the ignition.