JDM Honda Civic EK3 4 Door Stereo install

Discussion in 'Honda' started by Dah_Hunter, May 21, 2014.

1. Dah_Hunter

Dah_Hunter Looking over your shoulder, so you dont have to.

Im not a honda expert..

So i have this honda coming in for my brother.. and he wants a Better head unit..

This is the Stock console in the JDM honda civic:
    [​IMG]

and this is the Console in the NA comparable Unit:
    [​IMG]

I was surprised at the differences is for sure..
    The JDM one looks way better.

anyways.. im hoping this will work.
    http://www.amazon.ca/Metra-99-7891-Honda-Civic-96-98/dp/B0002BEYJA

I will be updating this thread when it gets here with info etc about the install

2. dagleykd

dagleykd Kei fan extraordinaire!

I'll be interested to see if the install works fine as well....the JDM console looks like the climate control is electric, that console for the NA spec car looks manual...?

3. Dah_Hunter

Dah_Hunter Looking over your shoulder, so you dont have to.

Well turns out i didnt need that kit after all.. Oh well.

So i didnt take many photos during the install but here is my Example photo. and the steps:

[​IMG]

Removing the Stereo from a 1996 Honda Civic VI (RHD JDM)
    First you have to pop the glove box down, Just pull the sides in a bit to pop it off the rails.(In Left side Red)
    This will reveal 2 Screws (Left side Blue)

Then on the Right side the panel below the steering colum has to be removed. It has 3 screws and 3 clips holding it in.
    On the far right bottem there is one, and the far right top above the fuse box access panel.
    Then there is one on the left side bottem (Right Red)
    Once those screws are out, you can carefully pull at the panel till the clips pop out.

Under you will see 2 screws (Right Blue)